Keeping the romance alive…

… for your writing, that is.

I have other friends who write and share their experiences, so it’s good to see I’m not the only fickle one out there. Still, it’s frustrating that even when I love a project, by the time I arrive to the mind-boggling, head-scratching, going-blind-from-all-the-revisions stage, that I’m ready to toss the whole thing out the window and start from scratch.

I’ve already written on procrastination , about the need to finish a major project and immediately start working on another, so that you can clear your mind before returning to your revisions with a fresher eye.

This glitch is it’s often tough to pry yourself away from the new project (new! exciting!), in order to return to (familiar, dull) revisons…

Generally, I can channel my enthusiasm for the first revision. But somewhere around the second or third revision, the romance just seems to flag. I’m in no mood to be faithful to my manuscript. Frankly, at this stage, a little time apart is sounding pretty good to me.

Any good  advice about building stronger author – manuscript relationships? Unfortunately, I suspect it’s very similar to what one would give for human relationships: roll up your sleeves, stay committed and faithful, and remind yourself of all the reasons you fell in love with the story idea in the first place.

If all else fails, maybe I could try some candlelight, roses,  and a box of chocolates next to my computer.

What do you think, writers? What do you do when your undying  love and devotion to your writing project start to waver?

3 Comments

  1. Chantel Rhondeau on May 22, 2012 at 7:08 am

    I’ve been having the opposite problem. For some reason, I can’t make myself start on the new project. I know I need to, it’s just hard. However, I agree with wanting to throw the manuscript out the window around the 3rd revision…I had to take a few weeks off before I wanted to look at it again. I have no advice that will help, Kimberly, but I can commiserate!

  2. kimberlysullivan on May 22, 2012 at 7:51 am

    Thanks, Chantel! If the magic wand solution ever comes to you, be sure to let me know. In the meantime, commiseration is equally appreciated. : ) Hope the muse does return soon – I look forward to seeing your new WIP…

  3. […] In general, I’m good with this stage and the part I enjoy most is the first draft/creative phase – that always tends to go quickly. The part that consistently slows me down is (seemingly endless) revision stage,  when the romance I once felt for my novel starts to fade . […]

Leave a Comment